health

Depression – Unable to Feel Happy

large_Fotor copy

“I knew for a long time that I had a particularly melancholic attitude towards a variety of things.However, I chose to plod on deliberately ignoring the clear signs and symptoms that pointed towards me suffering from depression. I chose for many years to suffer in silence – but I can say now that I feel better having opened up about my depression and actually seeking support.” – Rory

“I was sent to see a psychiatrist in my local day care hospital. I was 19 years of age in a waiting room surrounded by people much older than I was. Surely I am not the only young person suffering from depression, I thought to myself. There was a vacant look in all of their eyes, a hollowness, an emptiness, the feeling of darkness pervaded the room. The psychiatrist explained that there might be a chemical imbalance in my brain,  asked me my symptoms and prescribed a mixture of anti depressants, anxiety and sleeping pills based on what I told him. He explained that it would take time to get the right cocktail of tablets for my type of depression. I had an uneasy feeling about the whole thing. Something deep inside in me told me this wasn’t the way forward and this wasn’t what I needed.” – Depression Patient

Did You Know?

Scientists have some evidence that depression is related to the gut and its population of bacteria, which is heavily influenced by diet.

Depression is connected to how deep you breath. The deeper you breath on a daily (unconscious) basis, the happier you are, and the less likely you can have clinical depression.

“I think of depression as being encased in a glass table in the middle of your living room, able to see what is going on, but claustrophobic and suffocating, wanting so desperately to get out, but being locked inside.” – Borchard

“You can “catch a glimpse of light and people’s footsteps from a window above, but you’re unable to partake in that life.”

“Depression is like you have no air, no capability to breathe. I’ve had surgery three times in my life: Two C-section births, and one appendectomy. They give you a breathing exercise, a tube that you need to breathe into and the ball goes up. You have to get the ball up to five or so before you are discharged. Depression takes your breath away. That ball can’t move.”

“I have a daily feeling of sadness…I want to escape. The feeling that you get before you are about to cry is how I feel all day. With my depression I have no desire to do anything.”

“I couldn’t laugh, I couldn’t cry, I couldn’t think clearly. My head was in a black cloud and nothing in the outside world had any impact. The only relief that came was through sleep, and my biggest dread was waking up knowing that I had to get through another 15 hours before I could sleep again.”

Your Comments are Appreciated!

