health

Multiple Sclerosis – Scarring of Nerves

“Prior to being diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis I would have bouts of odd “skin pain”.  For months I had pain in my right hip/groin area that was excruciating.  It was painful for ANYTHING to touch me including the softest, lightest bed sheets.  The only thing that offered me any relief was to wear tight blue jeans.  I know, it sounds ridiculous but it helped.  I think because rather than any garment touching me in a specific spot in the painful area, it spread the “touch” over a wider area and made it more bearable.  No one could explain to me what it was or give me anything that could make it stop.  It made me begin to think I was crazy(er).  🙂   I did try Lidoderm with limited success, but as with all of the other junk that comes with MS……it finally just went away.” – MS Patient
“My husband has it. He is 41 and we found out 2 years ago. He had a sudden onset of double vision and it was very hot that summer and he just kept saying he felt strange. Since diagnosis, he’s had minor tremors and some memory issues and numbness, but the symptoms come and go. He still works, drives and does everything else normally. Sometimes things get bad for him if he does not get enough sleep – he gets tremors and his speech stutters.” – Sue

What is MS?

Multiple sclerosis (MS) is a chronic progressive neurological disorder characterized by scarring (sclerosis) of the nerves.

It is currently believed that MS is an autoimmune disease which means that the immune system attacks nervous tissues, causing inflammation and scarring to the nerves which means that the patient might have certain perception and motor disturbance depending on the nerves that are getting damaged.

Your Comments are Appreciated!

