health

Seizure Disorders – An Irritable Brain ​

Based on their clinical experience and observations more than one-third of the patients admitted to hospitals for treatment of seizures have been discovered to have stress-triggered symptoms rather than a true seizure disorder.These patients display of uncontrollable movements, far-off stares or convulsions are not the result of the abnormal electrical discharges in the brain that characterize epilepsy, but instead appear to be stress-related behaviors that mimic and are misdiagnosed as the neurological disorder.

How Does a Seizure Feel Like?

Many people have unusual sensations just before a seizure starts. Here are some quotes from people who have experienced seizures:

“Before my seizure I get dizzy and tired feeling, I start to feel like I’m losing touch with my surroundings and feel a bit like I’m floating. Often I’ll go hot and cold alot and I’ll shake, twitch, space out and sometimes I’ll feel very nervous/scared. During it I feel nothing.”

​”I have Complex Partial and Tonic Clonics that I am not aware during. I also have Myoclonic seizures and during those I am aware, it feels like an elastic was stretched and snapped as my body makes one giant jerk in those, I also have simple partial seizures that make me feel scared, or de ja vu, or really dizzy or recall a bad memory.. something like that. After any seizure I usually have a pretty decent headache, feel tired, sometimes dizzy, a bit confused, and usually sore.”

Your Comments are Appreciated!

