health

Symptoms of Peripheral Artery Diease

While many people with peripheral artery disease have mild or no symptoms, some have what is called intermittent claudication or simply claudication symptoms.

“Claudication symptoms include muscle pain or cramping in your legs or arms that’s triggered by activity, such as walking, but disappears after a few minutes of rest. The location of the pain depends on the location of the clogged or narrowed artery. Calf pain is the most common location.” –MayoClinic

The severity of intermittent claudication varies widely, from mild discomfort to debilitating pain. Severe intermittent claudication can make it hard for you to walk or do other types of physical activity.

“I’ve been playing tennis now for over 20 years, and once I hit my late 40s I began to notice some leg pain and swelling. At the time, I attributed it to normal wear and tear, and assumed it was also due to all of the years I spent on my feet working in the retail industry. When the pain worsened after about a year or so, I knew it was time to seek medical help.” – Donna Seaman

Your Comments are Appreciated!

